TNRD Board Elects All-Female Board Chair, Vice-Chair for First Time

Kamloops, BC – November 18, 2022 – For the first time in the history of the Thompson-Nicola Regional District (TNRD), the Board of Directors have elected a female chair of the Board and female vice-chair of the Board to serve during the same term.

At the inaugural board meeting held on Thursday, November 17, 2022, the Board elected Village of Ashcroft director Barbara Roden as chair, and District of Logan Lake director Robin Smith as vice-chair.

Roden is the second-ever female to serve as the TNRD Board chair, following former City of Kamloops director Patricia Wallace, who served as Board chair between 1983 and 1986. Roden has been the mayor of Ashcroft since 2018, and also served as a councillor between 2014 and 2018. Roden also became the first-ever female vice-chair of the TNRD Board in 2021.

Smith has been the mayor of Logan Lake since 2014, and also served as a councillor between 2008 and 2014.

“I’m honoured to have been chosen to lead the TNRD Board of Directors for the next year, and very happy to have Director Robin Smith as vice-chair. I know that we will make a good team. We’re both dedicated to listening to what residents have to say, building a strong team around the board table, and doing what’s best for the TNRD,” Roden stated.

“There are a lot of new faces around the board table, and everyone there brings unique skills and fresh ideas. It’s an exciting time for the TNRD, and I’m looking forward to what the next 12 months bring, and acting a guide for that journey.”

During the inaugural board meeting, all 27 elected officials took their Oath of Office for the current four-year term, presided over by the Honourable Judge Lorianna Bennett.

About the TNRD Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the TNRD, and includes 27 elected officials:

  • One Director from each of the 10 TNRD Electoral Areas;
  • One Director from each of the 10 smaller TNRD Member Municipalities; and
  • Seven Directors from the City of Kamloops.

Provincial legislation requires regional district boards of directors to hold annual elections to elect one Director to serve as Board chair and one Director to serve as vice chair. These elections take place at the inaugural meeting, which is the first Board meeting after November 1.

For more information about the TNRD Board, please visit:

Media Contact:

Colton Davies, Communications Manager
Thompson-Nicola Regional District
Tel.: 250 377-6299

Group Photo Details:

Back Row: Left to Right: Ward Stamer (Barriere), Mike O’Reilly (Kamloops), Katie Neustater (Kamloops), Roland Stanke (Clinton), Mike Goetz (Merritt), Mike Grenier (Electoral Area “J”), Doug Haughton (Electoral Area “L”), Reid-Hamer Jackson (Kamloops), John Ranta (Cache Creek).

Middle Row: L to R: Bill Sarai (Kamloops), Herb Graham (Electoral Area “N”), Lee Morris (Electoral Area “P”), Al Raine (Sun Peaks), Usoff Tsao (Electoral Area “A”), Tricia Thorpe (Electoral Area “I”), Denise O’Connor (Lytton), Jim Smith (Electoral Area “E”).

Front Row: L to R: Kelly Hall (Kamloops), Margot Middleton (Kamloops), David Laird (Electoral Area “M”), Dale Bass (Kamloops), chair Barbara Roden (Ashcroft), vice-chair Robin Smith (Logan Lake), Lee Morris (Electoral Area “B”), Jill Hayward (Electoral Area “O”), David Lepsoe (Chase).

Not Pictured: Merlin Blackwell (Clearwater) 

Sign up for the TNRD mailing list

Subscribe to get the latest regional news and updates delivered straight to your inbox. Opt in or out anytime.

Scroll to Top